moravia naranjo




What is Pilates?

The Pilates method was developed by Joseph Pilates as a holistic exercise regime to strengthen your deep lying muscles.
The training encompasses strengthening exercises as well as stretching and focused breathing and can be carried out on the mat or on specially developed Pilates machines.
The goal is to strengthen muscles, improve stamina and co-ordination as well as posture, activate and improve circulation as well as gaining better all-round body awareness.
  • The principle/basis of -Pilates-
    The Term Pilates Principles was first introduced in 1980, in the Book: The Pilates Method of Physical and Mental Conditioning. Joseph Pilates himself never used the term Principles with regards to the Pilates Method. The “Principles”, as a concept, were extrapolated from his work at a later stage. The six principles have also been mentioned in other books about and relating to Pilates.

    The six Principles that Friedman and Eichen describe are:
    > Concentration
    > Centering
    > Control
    > Breathing
    > Precision
    > Flowing movement

    Additional Principles were introduced to this list at later stages. Here is a description of the most important Principles:

    Control

    The most important principle of Pilates is carrying out all exercises and movements in a controlled manner. Thereby strengthening the smaller,“intrinsic muscles”, not always used in day-to-day life.
    Concentration
    Concentration helps to connect body and mind and bring about balance. Every movement should be controlled with the mind and focus should be placed on working the body as a” whole”.
    Breathing
    Being conscious of your breathing plays an important role in Pilates. Breathing should alleviate tension and increase the control over your body. For this reason we practice breathing from the diaphragm.
    Centering
    Centering means strengthening the center of your body, the so called Powerhouse, that reaches from your ribs to your pelvis and encases all the important organs. Strengthening your Powerhouse means stabilizing muscles and strengthening your back. The Pilates Method can have a positive affect on back problems and can alleviate back pain.
    Relaxation
    Conscious relaxation helps to become aware of tension in the body and can help alleviate tension. Relaxation in Pilates , however, does not mean the opposite of an engaged and active body.
    Flowing movement
    All exercises are to be carried out in a fluid manner, without long interruptions. There are no abrupt, isolated movements in this work.
    Power Engine or Powerhouse
    The Term “Power Engine” stems from Moshe Feldenkrais. Power Engine describes a muscular network, that provides the basic stability and control in the lumbar-pelvic region. It comprises of the pelvic floor muscle, transversus,multifidus,diaphragm,the muscles of the inner thigh and the muscles around the sitting bones. The Power Engine is activated when you bring your navel to spine, in a “zipper-like-motion” from the pubic bone to the sternum. This creates a concave form or “scoop” effect and activates the deep abdominal muscles and the pelvic floor muscles (the deep muscle corset). In this manner, the Heels of the feet, back of the inner thighs, the deep muscles of the lower back and the muscles around the sitting bones are activated without affecting the natural action of breathing which can lead to tension of the upper chest area or holding ones breath. The Power Engine not only offers support and stability in the lumbar-pelvic region, it also has the ability to transfer the center of gravity of the body to it’s highest and most effective position, for example: in a seated posture it lifts the upper body upwards and away from the pelvis. In a standing Position it brings about a two-directional pull and reduces weight bearing in the upper body. The same thing occurs in a lying position. The “Power Engine” opens the vertical plane of the body in two directions: It grounds the Pelvis to the earth and lengthens the spine to the sky in the same way the roots of a tree are grounded in the soil and the trunk of a tree grows upwards towards the sky.
    Posterior lateral Breathing
    Posterior lateral breathing facilitates the basal expansion of the ribs. In order to master this type of breathing one must learn how to expand and widen the ribs followed by softening the ribs and letting go, without using active breathing to help this process. The inhalation and exhalation come about i.e are a direct result of the expansion and letting go of the ribs. This can be facilitated by placing your hands on and around the lower ribs so that your thumbs rest on the back ribs. Relax the top of your abdomen and begin to widen and expand your ribs to both sides. At the same time softly apply pressure with your hands against your ribs to build up some resistance. Now let go by softening and “melting” the area of your collar bones and sternum downwards. You can also carry out this exercise with a hand towel, by wrapping it around the lower rib cage. You won’t succeed in stretching the ribs effectively if the abdominal muscles are engaged and neither will you be able to release the ribs if they weren't expanded and stretched effectively to begin with. Repeat this exercise but this time focus on the inhalation and the exhalation. Inhalation widens the ribs laterally, posteriorly and superiorly in a 60:30:10 ratio, if the movement is led by the breath and without force. Furthermore the action of inhalation mostly feels like it is occurring in the region of the back. Exhalation happens gradually, through a slow release of tension in the upper chest and sternum area, without collapsing the frontal ribs and ends with the engaging of the “Power Engine”.

    Quellenangabe:
    • Herausgeber: Wikipedia, Die freie Enzyklopädie.

Who is Joseph Pilates?

By KPilates (Own work) [CC BY-SA 4.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/4.0)], via Wikimedia Commons
Joseph H Pilates was born in 1883 in Gladbach. At the outbreak of the WW1, Pilates was working in England as a circus artist and boxer. He was imprisoned and sent to an internment camp because of his German nationality. It was during this time that he developed his floor routines and exercises that we have come to know as Pilates matwork today. His creativity and invention came about through sheer necessity.In these limited conditions he could only use what was in front of him. He converted bed springs and rings from beer barrels into exercise apparatuses which provided effective “resistance”training.

After the war, Pilates returned to Germany and went to Hamburg in order to collaborate with the most respected bodywork practitioners of the time. He developed a very close working relationship with Rudolf Laban, a visionary in all things relating to movement, the body and modern dance. Pilates also used his Method to train the Hamburg police force.But in 1925 he packed his suitcase and boarded a boat bound for New York. It is on this journey that he met Clara, a nurse, who would become his wife. In 1926 Pilates opened his first studio in New York City. Clara, his wife worked closely with him in developing his exercises, creating assistance tools known as “small props” and teaching his students.
As a sickly child, Pilates showed great initiative in researching and experimenting with all kinds of exercise methods to help strengthen himself. Later on Pilates discovered eastern practices such as Yoga and Zen Buddhism. He was also very inspired by the greek ideology whereby man can only achieve perfection by developing mind, body and spirit as one.
Pilates also studied anatomy and worked as a bodybuilder,gymnast,boxer,skier and diver. All of these skills and activities helped form and shape the Pilates Method that we know today.

Pilates carried on teaching and sharing his unique method with people until 1966. Over a period of 20 Years he taught a huge variety of students who not only applied his work to their professional and everyday lives, but also went on to become pilates teachers themselves. Joseph Pilates’ studio was located in a neighbourhood in New York City which was home to numerous dance studios and dance companies alike. Many dancers and celebrities embraced the Pilates Method and credited the Method in enabling them to gain strength, flexibility and elegance, it also proved hugely effective in helping individuals recover from injury.

It was primarily professional dancers and athletes that kept Pilates’ work alive. So it wasn’t until the 1980’s, when the medical world finally began to show an interest in Pilates and confirmed it’s effectiveness, that it spread to the mainstream. The first generation of teachers who learned directly under Joseph Pilates are often called the “Pilates Elders”. Some of them believe in communicating and teaching Pilates’ work in exactly the same way that it was taught to them- today this is known as “Classical Pilates”. Others chose to integrate their own experiences and styles into their bodywork and created other variations of the Pilates Method.

Joseph Pilates died in 1967 at the age of 87. Up until the end of his days he maintained a fit and healthy physique. It was also said that he had quite a headstrong personality; he smoked cigars, loved parties and wore his gym shorts wherever and whenever he felt like it. Clara, his wife, continued teaching the Pilates Method after his passing and carried on with the running of the studio for another decade.

Joseph Pilates named his work “ Contrology”. He defined his Method as a holistic integration of body,mind and spirit.
Foto:
KPilates (Own work) [CC BY-SA 4.0 (creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/4.0)], via Wikimedia Commons
Did you know? If you are insured at the SVA you can apply for a Gesundheitshundert€r once every year!
Find out more here
Stacks Image 24616
© 2019 moravia naranjo | terms & conditions | impressum

moravia naranjo




Was ist Pilates?

Pilates ist eine ganzheitliche Trainingmethode zur Kräftigung der Muskulatur, welche von Joseph Pilates entwickelt wurde. Das Training umfasst Kraftübungen, Stretching sowie bewusste Atmung und kann auf der Matte oder an speziell entwickelten Geräten stattfinden. Das Ziel ist eine Stärkung der Muskulatur, die Verbesserung von Kondition und Bewegungskoordination, eine Verbesserung der Körperhaltung, die Anregung des Kreislaufs und eine erhöhte Körperwahrnehmung.
Die Grundlage aller Übungen ist das Trainieren des so genannten „Powerhouses“, womit die Stützmuskulatur rund um die Wirbelsäule gemeint ist. Angesprochen werden vor allem die tief liegenden, kleinen und meist schwächeren Muskelgruppen welche für eine korrekte und gesunde Körperhaltung sorgen. Die Muskeln des Beckenbodens und die tiefe Rumpfmuskulatur werden gezielt gestärkt. Alle Bewegungen werden langsam und fließend ausgeführt was Muskeln und Gelenke schont und gleichzeitig die Atmung schult.
  • die Grundprinzipien von -Pilates-
    Der Begriff Pilates Prinzipien wird erstmals in dem 1980 veröffentlichten, ersten Buch über Pilates The Pilates Method of Physical and Mental Conditioning erwähnt Joseph Pilates selbst verwendete das Wort Prinzipien übrigens nicht. Die Prinzipien sind also etwas, was später aus der Methode extrahiert wurde. Die sechs Prinzipien wurden später in anderen Büchern über Pilates nahezu gleichlautend verwendet.

    Die sechs Prinzipien die Friedman & Eisen beschreiben sind:
    • Konzentration – concentration
    • Zentrierung – centering
    • Kontrolle – control
    • Atmung – breathing
    • Präzision – precision
    • Fluss – flowing movement

    Später wurden diese oft um weitere Prinzipien ergänzt. Hier eine Beschreibung der häufig genannten Prinzipien:

    Kontrolle

    Ein wesentlicher Grundsatz des Trainings ist die kontrollierte Ausführung aller Übungen und Bewegungen. Dadurch sollen auch die kleineren „Helfermuskeln“ gestärkt werden.
    Konzentration
    Mit Hilfe von Konzentration sollen Körper und Geist in Harmonie gebracht werden. Jede Bewegung soll mental kontrolliert werden, die Aufmerksamkeit soll ganz auf den Körper gerichtet sein.
    Atmung
    Bewusste Atmung spielt bei Pilates eine wichtige Rolle. Sie soll Verspannungen entgegenwirken und die Kontrolle über den Körper erhöhen. Deshalb wird die Atmung in das Zwerchfell trainiert.
    Zentrierung
    Mit Zentrierung ist die Stärkung der Körpermitte gemeint, das so genannte Powerhouse, das vom Brustkorb bis zum Becken reicht und alle wichtigen Organe enthält. Die Stärkung der Powerhouse-Muskulatur kräftigt vor allem den Rücken und kann sich bei Rückenschmerzen positiv auswirken.
    Entspannung
    Bewusste Entspannung soll helfen, Verspannungen aufzufinden und zu lösen. Entspannung ist bei Pilates jedoch nicht das Gegenteil von Körperspannung.
    Fließende Bewegung
    Alle Übungen werden in fließenden Bewegungen ausgeführt, ohne längere Unterbrechungen. Es gibt keine abrupten isolierten Bewegungen.
    Power Engine oder Powerhouse
    Die Terminologie „Power Engine“ stammt von Moshé Feldenkrais. „Power Engine“ bezeichnet ein muskuläres Netzwerk, das die grundsätzliche Stabilität und Kontrolle in der lumbopelvischen Region bereitstellt. Es besteht aus dem Beckenbodenmuskel, Transversus, Multifidus, Zwerchfell, den Muskeln der inneren Oberschenkel, und den Muskeln rund um die Sitzknochen. Die „Power Engine“ wird aktiviert, wenn man die tiefen Bauchmuskeln und den Beckenbodenmuskel (das Tiefenmuskulaturkorsett) quasi aushöhlt, indem man den Nabel in einer Reißverschlussbewegung, vom Schambein zum Brustbein, in Richtung Rückgrat zurückzieht. Dabei werden die Fersen, die Hinterseite der inneren Oberschenkel, die Tiefenmuskulatur des unteren Rückens und die Muskel rund um den Sitzknochen und das Steißbein aktiviert, ohne die natürliche Atemfunktion zu beeinflussen, also den Brustbereich zu kontrahieren oder die Luft anzuhalten. Die „Power Engine“ bietet nicht nur Kontrolle und Stabilität in der lumbopelvischen Region, sondern hebt im Sitzen den Oberkörper und bringt den Schwerpunkt des Körpers in seine höchste also effizienteste Position. Im Stehen streckt sie den Körper bidirektional und reduziert das Gewicht im oberen Körper. Im Liegen ebenso, und auch hier wird der Schwerpunkt des Körpers auf seine höchste und effizienteste Position gebracht. Die „Power Engine“ öffnet die vertikale Dimension des Körpers bidirektional, indem sie das Becken zur Erde hin bindet und das Rückgrat zum Himmel streckt, wie einen Baum, wenn man das Becken als Wurzeln und das Rückgrat als Stamm sieht.
    Posterior laterale Atmung
    Posterior Lateral Breathing erleichtert die bibasale Expansion der Rippen. Um diese Atmung zu beherrschen, müssen zuerst die Rippen erweitert und wieder losgelassen werden ohne dabei das Atmen zur Hilfe zu nehmen. Die Ein- und Ausatmung erfolgt dann instinktiv als Antwort auf die Expansion und das Loslassen der Rippen. Das kann folgendermaßen gemacht werden: Platzieren Sie Ihre Hände auf den unteren Rippen, so dass die Daumen auf den hinteren Rippen liegen. Entspannen Sie dann den oberen Bauchbereich und erweitern Sie Ihre Rippen zur Seite hin gegen den sanften Druck Ihrer Hände. Nun lassen Sie die Rippen wieder los, indem Sie den Bereich um die Schlüsselbeine „schmelzen“ lassen. Sie können das auch mit einem Handtuch um den unteren Brustkorb machen. Sie werden es nicht schaffen die Rippen effektiv zu dehnen, wenn Sie die Bauchmuskulatur angespannt haben, oder die Rippen wieder loslassen, wenn Sie vorher nicht gedehnt waren. Danach machen Sie das Gleiche nochmal und konzentrieren sich diesmal bewusst auf das Ein- und Ausatmen. Das Einatmen erweitert die Rippen lateral, posterior und superior im Verhältnis 60:30:10, wenn sie einfach kommen gelassen wird. Das fühlt sich hauptsächlich wie eine Aktivität im Rückenbereich an. Das Ausatmen erfolgt graduell, zuerst durch langsames, sanftes Nachlassen der Spannung im oberen Brust- und Brustbeinbereich, ohne dabei zu einem Kollaps der vorderen Rippen zu führen. Sie endet in einer Aktivierung der Power Engine.


    Quellenangabe:
    • Herausgeber: Wikipedia, Die freie Enzyklopädie.

Wer war Joseph Pilates ?

By KPilates (Own work) [CC BY-SA 4.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/4.0)], via Wikimedia Commons
Joseph H. Pilates, geb. 1883 in Gladbach, arbeitet in England als Zirkusartist und Boxer, als er mit Ausbruch des 1.Weltkrieges aufgrund seiner deutschen Herkunft in ein Internierungslager kommt. In diesem Lager entwickelt er jene Bodenübungen, die wir heute als -Pilates Matwork- kennen. Sein Erfindungsreichtum entspringt dabei der Notwendigkeit, in diesen beengten Verhältnissen das zu verwenden, was es eben gibt: Bettfedern und Ringe von Bierfässern, woraus er Übungsgeräte baut, welche einen Widerstand beim Trainieren bieten.

Nach dem Krieg kehrt Pilates nach Deutschland zurück wo er in Hamburg mit den wichtigsten Vertretern der „Bewegungslehre“ zusammenarbeitet. Eine sehr enge Verbindung entwickelt sich zu Rudolf von Laban, einem Visionär der Bewegung, des Körpers und des modernen Tanzes. Er trainiert unter anderem auch die Hamburger Polizei. 1925 packt er seine Koffer und besteigt ein Schiff nach New York, auf welchem er die Krankenschwester Clara, seine spätere Frau kennenlernt. In New York eröffnet er 1926 sein erstes Studio, Clara arbeitet mit ihm an der Entwicklung seiner Übungen, seiner Hilfsmittel und beim Training von Studenten.

Als kränkliches Kind hatte Pilates die unterschiedlichsten Methoden, sich selbst zu stärken, ausprobiert. Später wird er sich auch fernöstlicher Praktiken wie Yoga und Zen-Buddhismus bedienen und wird vom Ideal des griechischen Altertums geleitet und inspiriert werden, wonach der Mensch nur in der gleichzeitigen Entwicklung von Körper, Verstand und Geist zur Perfektion gelangen kann. Auf seinem Weg zur Pilates-Methode studiert er Anatomie und erprobt sich als Bodybuilder, Ringer, Turner, Boxer, Skifahrer und Taucher.

Er lehrt seine Methode bis 1966. In diesen Jahrzehnten unterrichtet er eine Vielzahl von Studenten, die seine Methode nicht nur in ihrem eigenen Leben anwenden, sondern auch selbst zu Pilates Trainern werden. Joseph Pilates’ Studio liegt in enger Nachbarschaft zu einigen Tanzstudios, viele Tänzer und bekannte Persönlichkeiten in New York vertrauen auf seine Trainingsmethode und verdanken ihr Kraft und Eleganz oder auch eine erfolgreiche Rehabilitation. Bis in den 1980er Jahren endlich die Wissenschaft auf die Pilates Prinzipien aufmerksam wird und das heutige Interesse an Pilates auslöst, sind es vor allem Tänzer und Leistungssportler, die Pilates’ Arbeit am Leben erhalten.
Die erste Generation von Lehrern welche noch bei Joseph Pilates gelernt haben, werden oft als die -Pilates Elders- bezeichnet. Einige davon verschreiben sich der Idee, Pilates genau so weiter zu geben, wie er es ihnen vermittelt hat. Dieser Zugang wird als -Classical Style- bezeichnet. Andere integrieren ihre eigenen Erfahrungen in ihre Körperarbeit wodurch neue Varianten entstehen.

Joseph Pilates stirbt 1967 im Alter von 87 Jahren, bis dahin bewahrte er seinen fitten Körper. Es wird erzählt, dass er eine eigenwillige Persönlichkeit besaß. Er rauchte Zigarren, liebte Partys und trug seine kurzen Turnhosen wann immer es ihm gefiel, auch in den Straßen New Yorks. Clara Pilates lehrte die Methode auch nach seinem Tod und führte das Studio weitere zehn Jahre.

Joseph Pilates selbst nannte seine Arbeit übrigens -Contrology-, er definierte sie als allumfassende Integration von Körper, Verstand und Geist.
Foto:
KPilates (Own work) [CC BY-SA 4.0 (creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/4.0)], via Wikimedia Commons
Wussten sie schon?
Wenn sie bei der SVA versichert sind können sie einmal pro Jahr einen Gesundheitshundert€r beantragen…
nähere Informationen finden sie hier
Stacks Image 1641
© 2018 moravia naranjo | agb | impressum